I was born in Cimarron, New Mexico in 1948. My father was in the Army and my
mother was staying with her father who was a lumberjack in the Sangre de Cristo
Mountains. I don't remember any of it. We lived in Oklahoma and New Mexico and
then moved to California in time for me to start school. Unlike most Okies we lived in
northern California. This included Redding, Red Bluff, Big Bend and then we finally
settled in the Bay Area. I graduated high school in Union City, went to Chabot Junior
College and finished my undergrad at Cal-State, Hayward, which is now called
Cal-State East Bay.
I spent the next five years travelling around the world. I lived in Geneva, Switzerland,  
and St. Thomas where I did training with the Peace Corps. I served in Divo, Ivory
Coast. It is in Africa where I met my wife Phebe. She was also from the Bay Area and
so we went back to California where we were married. We spent our first two years
living in Melbourne, Australia. We then returned to Fremont, California where we
bought a house, had our first kid, and returned to graduate school. I earned a MBA
from Cal-State and she studied Premed. We lived there for five years.
During that five years I also did a lot of genealogy and among other things realized
that I was really a Southerner. California was getting too crowded and I was longing to
get back to my roots. When my wife was applying to medical school I encouraged her
to include the University of Oklahoma. She had a few schools to chose from but I was
able to convince her to accept a place at OU. By the time she graduated we had
another child and I realized I was where I belonged. When she did a residency I said I
would go where ever she wanted as long as it was in the Confederate States of
America. She too began to see Oklahoma as our home and she remained at OU for
residency.  She went on to be a professor there where she works today.
I spent many years doing genealogy and joined organizations such as the Sons of
Confederate Veterans, Sons of the Republic of Texas, Sons of the American
Revolution, and the Society of the War of 1812. One advantage in being from the
west is that I had ancestors who were pioneers in every state in the South, and thus I
have joined a number of pioneer societies such as Arkansas, Oklahoma, Tennessee,
Maryland and others.
After twenty years as an accountant I decided I wanted to change professions. I
earned a Masters in history at the University of Central Oklahoma and went on to get
my Ph. D. in history at Oklahoma State in Stillwater.  Since then I have been working
at Oklahoma City Community College and the University of Central Oklahoma as an
Adjunct professor. I have also maintained a  small CPA practice. What I enjoy most
about history is research and writing. I was able to turn my dissertation into a book
which was published with McFarland Press. This is a biography of Major General  
Isaac Trimble. I completed Magnolias and Cornbread which I had to try as self publish
since it is a topic I am partial to but which is not acceptable to most professional
historians and therefore not marketable to academic presses. I have recently finished  
the first draft of another biography, this one on Brigadier General John Adams.
Adams was one of the four generals who ended up on the porch at Carnton House in
Franklin, Tennessee.  I hope so see this in print with the next year as three publishers
have expressed interest.
I plan to retire from teaching soon and spend most more time on research. I continued
to be concerned about the demise of our Southern heritage in the America of today.
Though there are other aspects history I am interested in this continues to be my
main passion. I am especially concerned that the professional historians of today are
yielding to political correctness in condemning all things Confederate. I feel that I can
make a contribution in defending our heritage on this newest front.

Deo Vindici